Cosmos Pizza & Grill, Syracuse (SU Campus)

Cosmos Pizza & GrillMoving down Marshall Street just a few steps, we come to Cosmos Pizza & Grill. Cosmos has been at this location for 47 years, meaning that some of their earliest customers could now be bringing their grandchildren here! This is a very mature diner with great personality, and an exceptionally deep menu of great food from breakfast through late night. I couldn’t possibly do justice to Cosmos if I tried to fully describe it, so I’ll refer you to their excellent web site.

I’ve never been to Cosmos before – I was surprised to find that table service was the norm, even for a single slice purchase. It’s a lot bigger than it looks from the street. There is a traditional diner counter, and a lot of booths stretching back away from the street. Pizza making operations are right up front, making carryout easier. Delivery is also available.

Cosmos Pizza & GrillThis cheese slice is a 1/8th cut from a 16″ pie ($1.48 + tax), with a quite good thin crust that had very little rim; it was stiff, crispy and well-browned. The sauce was very rich, with a well-developed tomato taste, medium-strong spice load, strong garlic notes, and some lingering aftertaste. Cheese was just right – not heavy, and only slightly oily.

Cosmos Pizza & GrillOverall, this pizza had a good deal of “personality.” What do I mean by that? If you lined up all the pizzas I’ve sampled for this blog (about 35 so far), I could easily identify it in a blind taste test. The thing that stands out is the spicy sauce. Some people will love that, others will be a little overwhelmed – everyone has their preference. As spice goes, it isn’t exceptionally strong, just stronger than you’ll usually find. To keep it in perspecitve, the sausage or pepperoni you get at many pizza restaurants will be spicier than this sauce. Even so, the Pizza Geek does recommend this pizza, and I’ll give it a grade of 4 out of 5 slices.

Summary – Pros: complex flavor, table service, inexpensive. Cons: stronly spiced sauce (a pro for some).

What do you think? Who makes the best pizza on Marshall Street? Do you have any good Comsos stories? Click the comment link below and weigh in.

Crust: ****
Sauce: ****
Cheese: *****
Toppings: NA
Value: *****
Overall:

Cosmos Pizza & Grill - 143 Marshall Street, Syracuse – 472-6766
Cosmo's Pizza Shop on Urbanspoon

About pizzageek

Perhaps being an engineer makes me too picky, but I'm in search of really GREAT pizza in Syracuse.
This entry was posted in 13210 - Syracuse (SouthEast), by the slice, delivery, eat in, slices rating: 4.0, table service, thin crust. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cosmos Pizza & Grill, Syracuse (SU Campus)

  1. KMR says:

    Decided to give Cosmo’s a try last night and ordered a large mushroom pizza. I would have thought given its location that there would be quite a few comments on it, especially comparing it to other pizza offerings in the SU area. However, there isn’t much public feedback available on Cosmo’s, so I’ll help that out a little bit.

    Initial impressions were good, but by the time I got through my second slice I was longing for a more complex sauce rather than the moderately to heavily spiced sauce Cosmos uses. The brick baked crust was excellent, good flavor and texture, I much prefer this to the much more common pan baked crusts available at other area shops. The cheese wasn’t greasy, but didn’t seem particularly favorful either. Another genuine surprise were the fresh mushrooms, I’ve come to expect canned / jarred toppings from the bulk of Syracuse pizza shops. Everything was applied to the pizza in good proportion,

    Overall, this is a 3.5-4.0 pizza. I would prefer a more complex sauce, where I’m actually able to taste the sweet tomato flavor in addition to the spice. The Cosmos sauce all you taste is the spice, but it isn’t as overbearing as Gianni’s in my opinion.

  2. Mike K says:

    You are right, my Dad started eating at Cosmo’s in the early 1960’s as a USAF Language School student at SU, we continued to eat there until I joined the Air Force after high school in the mid-80’s and today, whenever I am “home” from where I now live in NC, I take my son up to the Hill for pizza. It’s a family tradition…

Leave a Reply

