BB’s Pizza, Auburn

BB's Pizza, AuburnBB’s Pizza is rather new, opened in 2010 on Auburn’s west side (250 Genesee Street). It would be nice to say that I found this place by accident when I was in Auburn on business, but the truth is that I had some help. A friend of mine from Auburn has been bragging on BB’s Pizza for a while now; his family enjoys some every Friday night. It was interesting to note that BB’s is located in the same building as another pizza restaurant, and across the street from yet another! There are two, very small tables inside, and one outside. However, I would hesitate to say that you could eat in. Parking is easy right on Genesee Street, and delivery is available. Closed Sunday.

BB's Pizza, AuburnThe menu lists a generally typical selection of pizzeria food, but one thing really caught my eye: garbage pizza! It is described as “everything you can imagine on a pizza.” BB’s Facebook page has a post which mentions that the garbage pizza weighs in at 6 to 8 pounds! Someday I hope to give it a try, but I have a feeling that I’ll want to edit the toppings a little, since some things just do not belong on pizza (such as anchovies, broccoli, pineapple). Another interesting comment from the Facebook page: No freezer, no microwave, everything is fresh.

BB's Pizza, AuburnA good selection of pizza slices was available when we stopped in at the tail end of lunch today (yes, this review is being posted on the same day), and I chose two slices: pepperoni, and onion-pepper-mushroom. After a brief re-heat, we headed outside to enjoy our slices. This pizza fits squarely in the category of thin, Neapolitan, NY Style, or whatever you’d like to call it. It was about 3/16″ thin, increasing to about 3/4″ at the rim, baked directly on the oven stone. There was a pleasant crispiness in every bite, with just the right amount of chewiness. The crust interior did not have quite the complexity of structure that I have seen on the very best crusts, but the flavor did not suffer from it.

BB's Pizza, AuburnThis sauce had a good deal of personality. First of all, there was enough that you could actually taste it! It was bright red, generally smooth texture, moderately spiced with visible flakes, and had a mix of sweet, acidic and salty notes. Actual tomato flavor was a little subdued. If I could change one thing about it, I would drop the salt level just a tad. Cheese was Grande, which is usually pretty good, but tends to have some oil separation under certain cooking conditions. As you’ll notice in the photo, the pepperoni slice was much more orange and oily, whereas the veggie slice had cheese that was still white and not oily. The amount of cheese was in good balance with the other ingredients.

Thinking back to the Facebook comment about “no freezer, no microwave, everything fresh,” I was happy to notice the toppings were indeed fresh and tasty. I’m sorry that I didn’t have a slice with sausage, because it would be interesting to see what was used. Sometimes I would prefer a little more toppings than what this slice had. All things considered, though, I think it was about right.

Overall, this pizza has a lot to recommend it, and virtually nothing to criticize. Every bite produced a high amount of “wow!” factor, with a great confluence of tastes. Everything was in balance, and every bite had just the right amount of crispy crunch. You will eat every last bite! My only complaint is with the sauce – the salt level was a little higher than I prefer, and it could benefit from a little chunkiness and more fresh tomato taste. But keep my gripes in perspective, because I still highly recommend it, and give it a Pizza Geek rating of a very solid 4.5 out of 5 slices. If I have the opportunity to return and try a fresh pie, I have a feeling we’d be looking at a 4.75.

Summary – Pros: exceptional taste. Cons: eat-in really not practical.

What do YOU think? How does BB’s compare to other Auburn pizzerias? Please leave a comment and let us know.

Crust: *****
Sauce: ****
Cheese: *****
Toppings: *****

Overall:

BB’s Pizza, 250 Genesee Street, Auburn – 315-704-0227

About pizzageek

Perhaps being an engineer makes me too picky, but I'm in search of really GREAT pizza in Syracuse.
This entry was posted in 13021 - Auburn, by the slice, delivery, slices rating: 4.5, thin crust. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to BB’s Pizza, Auburn

  1. Jo says:

    Hi Thank You for taking the time to review us we certainly appreciate your comments just a note we use Gianellis sausage and there are no anchovies on our Garbage Pizza lol! Hope to see you all soon. Our Lunch Special Mon-Fri from 10 am – 4pm is 2 counter slices and a drink $4 and we deliver so call us and try us 704-0227 try our pizza, our preferred wings and our 27 wing sauces! Thanks you the family at BB’S pIzza!

  2. Kay says:

    Where did Pizza Geek go?????? Nothing for months :/

  3. Rachel says:

    I stumbled upon your blog and love it! I’m in Syracuse, but have been oohing and ahhing over your out-of-town pizza trials! Looking forward to more soon!

  4. Moose says:

    Being a bit of a Pizza snob myself, I have found the best slices at Nick’s Pizza (Thompson Rd) and Papa’s Pizza (next to Green Hills Market).

    Deffinitely worth a stop!

  5. John says:

    It’s been over a year now and nothing new on this blog.

    • pizzageek says:

      I’m afraid you’re right, John. Life’s circumstances have prevented me from doing any reviews for quite some time. I keep telling myself I’ll get back to it soon, so I will keep the site alive and try to make good on that desire.

      • fingerlakes59 says:

        Pizzageek is busy with some equally important pursuits in CNY! I bet he will be back soon. Meanwhile, I am going to try BB’s!

      • fingerlakes59 says:

        ….and I did try it. Tried a Thin crust with onions, pepers and sausage. WOW! fresh toppings, nice brown crust, delicious! My wife and I both rated it 4 thumbs up! Will be going back again soon. Also tried a dozen wings – excellent! Thanks to Pizzageek and smiling Jack for the great suggestion!!!

  6. Mike says:

    Pizza geek, where are you?!

  7. polly1023 says:

    The best PIZZA in Upstate Nwe York. I am from brooklyn and I know what Pizza is so comw and get BB’S pizza in Auburn.

Leave a Reply

